Carbon trading

Gazprom Group is currently utilizing the opportunities made available by the Kyoto Protocol. Participation in the carbon business can support the Gazprom Group’s traditional business, through synergies with trade deals of gas and electricity. The Kyoto Protocol, aimed at gradually reducing carbon dioxide emissions into the atmosphere, provides for trading these emissions. Our UK-based subsidiary, Gazprom Marketing & Trading, is developing this business segment.

GM&T currently offers its consumers a package of bundled products (gas, electricity, CO2 emission permits) implementing the «single window» principle on the energy market. The company further uses these products to optimize its project portfolio and reduce the level of risks.

GM&T is involved in the implementation of greenhouse gas emissions permits trading in Russia, America, Asia and the Middle East. In 2008, GM&T and Indian company «SAN» signed the agreement establishing a joint venture for realization of Clean development projects providing for the subsequent sale of emissions certificates in India. The joint venture was registered in 2009.

In February 2008, Japanese trading company «Marubeni» bought GM&T’s quotas on CO2 emissions. Moreover, the parties signed Cooperation agreement on emission reduction projects to be implemented in Japan.

At the present moment a dialogue is being initiated with the Chinese companies.

Торговля квотами

Группа Газпром использует возможности, предусмотренные Киотским протоколом. Участие в углеродном бизнесе может оказывать поддержку традиционному бизнесу за счет синергии с торговыми операциями с газом и электроэнергией. В рамках Киотского протокола, направленного на постепенное сокращение выбросов углекислого газа в атмосферу, предусмотрена торговля квотами на эти выбросы. Компания «Газпром Маркетинг энд Трейдинг», базирующаяся в Великобритании, ведет успешную работу в этом направлении.

Сегодня ГМиТ уже предлагает своим потребителям связанные продукты (газ — электроэнергия — разрешения на выброс СО2), реализуя принцип «одного окна» на энергетическом рынке. Кроме того, компания использует эти продукты для оптимизации «портфеля» и снижения уровня рисков.

ГМиТ принимает участие в реализации проектов по торговле разрешениями на выбросы парниковых газов в РФ, Америке, Азии и на Ближнем Востоке. В 2008 г. подписано соглашение о создании Совместного предприятия с индийской компанией «САН» для реализации проектов Чистого развития с последующей продажей сертификатов на выбросы в Индии. СП было зарегистрировано в 2009 г.

В феврале 2008 г. японский торговый дом «Марубени» купил у ГМиТ квоты на выбросы в атмосферу углекислого газа. Кроме того, между «Марубени» и ГМиТ подписано Соглашение о сотрудничестве в проектах по сокращению выбросов парниковых газов в Японии.

В настоящее время в рамках данного направления инициирован диалог с китайскими компаниями.